Crafty Dad

Knitting isn’t my thing; neither is crochet.  Yet, increasingly I find myself interested in all things related to yarn.

Why?

My daughter has learned crochet and I want to help her sell her creations.  In her room she has about sixty crochet hats.  What is she to do with them?  Well, that’s where I can help.

IMG_5866

Going online, I recently located several craft fairs and selected one to enter.  I paid the entrance fee and then, with my wife’s help, designed a way to display the hats.  It turned out rather cute.  A Saturday that could have been given to many other things was invested at a craft fair.  I want my daughter to learn not only crochet, but how to market, sell, display, and otherwise profit from her skills.

In the future she may find other interest, but for now, selling crochet hats is her thing.  My thing is helping her, and my other children, expand and grow in areas that interest them.  This means many things, including a day devoted to all things crafty.

That’s what dads do.  Right?  After all, as Christians we have a Father who is concerned about the things that concern us.  In some way, dads who invest in the things that concern and interest their children are showing forth the image of God.

Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent?  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

– Matthew 7:9-11

Leave a Reply

